Megan Coles

Megan Coles is a graduate of Memorial University and the National Theatre School of Canada. She is Co-founder and Artistic Director of Poverty Cove Theatre Company. Megan is presently working on her debut novel (House of Anansi, 2017) and The Driftwood Trilogy of plays. Her completed plays include Our ElizaThe BatteryBoundFalling TreesGrace and Squawk. Megan's first fiction collection, Eating Habits of the Chronically Lonesome, won the BMO Winterset Award, the ReLit Award, the Margaret & John Savage First Book Award, and earned her the one time Writers Trust 5x5 prize. Originally from Savage Cove on the Great Northern Peninsula of Newfoundland, Megan now resides in St. John's where she is the Executive Director of Riddle Fence and Artist-In-Residence at the Arts and Culture Centre. 

Lawrence Hill

Lawrence Hill is a Canadian novelist, essayist and memoirist. He is best known for his 2013 Massey Lectures Blood: The Stuff of Life, his critically acclaimed 2007 novel The Book of Negroes and his 2001 memoir Black Berry, Sweet Juice: On Being Black and White in Canada. The Book of Negroes was filmed as a TV miniseries and shown in 2014. His latest work, The Illegal, was winner of Canada Reads, 2016. Lawrence lives in Hamilton, ON and Woody Point, NL.


Donna Morrissey

Donna Morrissey is the award-winning author of four adult novels—Kit’s Law, Downhill Chance, Sylvanus Now, which was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and What They Wanted—as well as the Gemini Award–winning screenplay, Clothesline Patch. Morrissey grew up in The Beaches, a small fishing outport in Newfoundland, and now lives in Halifax.

Heather O'Neill

Heather O’Neill is a Canadian novelist, poet, short-story writer, screenwriter and essayist. Lullabies for Little Criminals, her debut novel, was published in 2006 to international critical acclaim and won Canada Reads. It was shortlisted for both the Governor General’s Award for Fiction and the Orange Prize for Fiction. She has since published the novel The Girl Who Was Saturday Night and the short story collection Daydreams of Angels, both of which were shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize in consecutive years. The collection was also shortlisted for the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction. Born and raised in Montreal, O’Neill lives there today with her daughter.

Twitter | Website

Ed Riche

Ed Riche is an accomplished Newfoundland screenwriter, playwright and novelist. His first novel, Rare Birds, was made into a hit movie starring William Hurt in 2001. He followed this with the bestsellers The Nine Planets and Easy to Like. He launched a new comic novel, Today I Learned It Was You, in 2016.

Madeleine Thien

Madeleine Thien was born in Vancouver. She is the author of the story collection Simple Recipes (2001), and two novels, Certainty (2006) and Dogs at the Perimeter (2011), which was shortlisted for Berlin’s International Literature Prize, and won the Frankfurt Book Fair’s 2015 Lißeraturpreis. Her books are published in Canada, the U.S., the U.K. and Australia, and have been translated into 22 languages. 

Twitter | Website

Guy Vanderhaeghe

Guy Vanderhaeghe was born in Esterhazy, Saskatchewan, in 1951. His previous fiction includes A Good ManThe Last CrossingThe Englishman’s BoyThings as They Are (stories), HomesickMy Present AgeMan Descending (stories). He is a three-time winner of the Governor General’s Award, and for his body of work, has received The Pierre Elliot Trudeau Fellowship, the Writers’ Trust Timothy Findley Award, and the Harbourfront Literary Prize. He has received many honours including the Order of Canada.



Des Walsh

Des Walsh’s published writings include poetry and screenplays of the international hit miniseries’ The Boys of St. Vincent and Random Passage. Love and Savagery, his first feature film, was released in 2009. His work has won many prestigious international awards including a Gemini Award and the Gold Medal at the Banff Television Festival in Canada, the UmbriaFiction Award in Italy, the Grand FIPA d’Or Cannes in France, and The New York Festivals Award and the 1995 Peabody Award in the United States.


Patrick Warner

Patrick Warner came to Newfoundland from Ireland in 1980. Since then he has published four critically-acclaimed volumes of poetry, and two novels: double talk, winner of the Percy Janes First Novel Award and long-listed for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; and 2015’s One Hit Wonders.